These collections of photo essays celebrate and showcase the best of Muncie, while uncovering some hidden gems.
Photo essay by Megan Havlin: A Muncie art crawl
In the Thomas/Avondale neighborhood, The Common Market, 900 W. Eighth St., has a few paintings on the building. This image originates from Shel Silverstein’s book “The Giving Tree.” This mural is on the front of The Common Market, 900 W. Eighth St., in Thomas Park/Avondale neighborhood. In McCulloch Park, this mural, “Year of Color,” is painted on the outside of the public restrooms. In 2016, the Whitely neighborhood sponsored a “Year of Color.” During the year, participants used artwork to brighten up the neighborhood. You can find this artwork and more at McCulloch Park at 1200 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Muncie. “Neolin” is located in Tuhey Park. “Neolin” was part of a statewide project, sponsored by the Indiana Association of United Ways to commemorate the state’s bicentennial year. Local artist Denise King painted the Muncie bison. She is Director of Resource Development for the United Way of Delaware, Henry and Randolph Counties. You can see this bison at the front of the park on the corner of White River Boulevard and North Wheeling Avenue. This mural was painted by Matt Litwin and Victoria Eidelsztein. This was part of the “Face Me Por Favor” project that encouraged Muncie residents to send photos of themselves to be painted around Muncie. There are eight different locations of their work, but you can find this one at 1413 S. Walnut St. On the side of The Common Market at 900 W. Eighth St. there is a portrait of Gandhi stating, “Be the change you want to see.” The Muncie Common Market is all about bringing people in the community together to eat, play and create. On the side of Mark III Tap Room building at 306 N. Walnut St. is a mural created in 2016 to honor the victims of the Orlando Pulse Club shooting. The mural is meant to show the community is inclusive and supportive of LGBTQ+. Work by artist DJ Jannell’s was on display during April’s First Thursday event. First Thursdays are an immersive art walk downtown for art goers to view completed works, as well as meet local artists working on their crafts. Artist DJ Jannell also had other artwork on display, showing a face she made out of cardboard. She created the artwork over the past year, while in quarantine. Artist DJ Jannell also featured her collages, made out of magazines. You can buy prints of her work at Fur in Focus, during First Thursday events. April’s First Thursday included a display for Ball State University’s Art 270 class “Glass Design: Technology Industry.” At the display, students showed what they had made in the class including this sculpture. A recent First Thursday displayed work by students from Ball State University’s Art 270 Glass Design “Technology and Industry” immersive learning class. This portrait of Mattie Coleman, a business owner, can be viewed near the downtown roundabout at 199 W. Seymour St. Dave Franklin, a resident of Muncie, describes his love for the art scene. His portrait can be viewed near the downtown roundabout at 199 W. Seymour St.
Photo essay by Anna Sego: City’s architectural treasures
Throughout Muncie there is interesting architecture but none perhaps as captivating as what can be found in or around the downtown. From the 151-year-old Beech Grove Cemetery gateway to the Boyce Block to the Masonic Temple to Muncie’s historic No. 1 fire station, it’s a visual feast. Here are some sites you shouldn’t miss.
The Anthony Block Building, at the corner of South Walnut and East Jackson streets, is home to Pazols Jewelers, which is closing in 2021 after 100 years in business. The Anthony block building originally was headquarters to Muncie’s chapter of the Ku Klux Klan in 1924. Beech Grove Cemetery Gateway was completed in 1904. It covers 100 acres, has about 41,000 gravesites and was the only significant cemetery in Muncie for more than a century. There are sections for those who were Jewish, Catholic, in the military, poor, pioneer, and there is an ornate gas boom section, as well. There also are many modern sections, as well as family mausoleums and monuments for Muncie’s early industrialists. The entrance gateway to the cemetery is a Gothic Revival architectural style. Boyce Block is a popular attraction as it is home to the Muncie Civic Theater, which was built in 1880. Muncie Civic Theater also is where the Ball Brothers signed a contract to move their glass-making facilities from Buffalo, New York to Muncie, Indiana at the turn of the century. Muncie’s historic fire station No. 1 was built in 1913 and has a flat roof on top of its two stories and is located at 421 E. Jackson St. First Baptist Church was one of four churches in Muncie when it was first founded in 1859 by 12 Indiana residents to serve a community of about 1,700 residents. The current church, at 309 E. Adams St., was built in 1928-1929. The second church was the High Street United Methodist Church on 219 S. High St. This church was built in 1930 after its pastor was sent to Europe to study church architecture and chose a Gothic style for this church. The Masonic Temple is home to the Cornerstone Center for the Arts located at 520 E. Main Street on the corners of East Main and South Madison streets. It is the third building built by the Masons and was built in 1920 with the construction finishing in 1926 at a total cost of about $1 million. The Moore-Youse-Maxon House, most recently a museum, is located at 122 E. Washington St. The house, built in 1860, remained in the same family until 1982. It currently is maintained by the Delaware County Historical Society. The Muncie Public Library is an original Carnegie Library located at 301 E. Jackson St. has been open to the public since 1904. Is it one of the few original Carnegie libraries still functioning as an active library. It also happens to be Muncie’s oldest public building. The Patterson Block building sits on the corners of North Walnut and East Main streets. It has been home to many businesses. The first section was built in 1876 by Arthur F. Patterson and the second section was built in 1881. In the recent past, Ivy Tech Community College used the building for its hospitality and culinary programs. It is an Italianate architectural style.