Mathematics Exchange

The Mathematics Exchange is a journal for undergraduate research in the mathematical sciences. It is a forum for student activities which are not necessarily original research but go beyond standard classroom material.  Among other information, issues contain senior thesis abstracts, extra curricular projects, and seminar and colloquium papers.

Audience

All undergraduates with majors in any of the mathematical sciences.

Submission and Review Process

We accept articles of interest to all types of mathematics undergraduates (e.g., pure, applied, actuarial, and education). Appropriate papers from other departments and other institutions are also welcome. Often the articles are written by undergraduates individually, working in teams, or working with faculty. On occasion we also include articles written solely by faculty or graduate students as long as they are accessible to undergraduates.  

Articles should be about 5-15 pages in length and should have been looked over by an academic advisor before submission. 

To submit an article, please select ONE member from the editorial board, and forward your material (including your advisor’s name and contact information) in PDF form, usually prepared by LaTeX (preferred) or Microsoft Word, to the editor you selected.

Review and selection of articles is handled by the editorial committee. Editorial changes of accepted articles are communicated through students’ advisors, when appropriate. 

Promotional Flyer

Get an electronic copy of our promotional flyer which you can share with students and faculty both via email and by posting hard copies in your department.

Managing Editor

Yayuan Xiao – Ball State University yxiao3@bsu.edu

Editorial Board

Hanspeter Fischer – Ball State University HFischer@bsu.edu
Xiaolong Han – California State University – xiaolong.han@csun.edu
Brendon LaBuz – Saint Francis University BLaBuz@francis.edu
Scott Parsell – West Chester University SParsell@wcupa.edu
Lara Pudwell – Valparaiso University Lara.Pudwell@valpo.edu
Kathy Shafer – Ball State University kgshafer@bsu.edu
Rich Stankewitz – Ball State University rstankewitz@bsu.edu
Zhixin Yang – Ball State University zyang6@bsu.edu
Aklilu Zeleke – Michigan State University zeleke@stt.msu.edu